The 4th Annual Newtown Breakaways Women’s Pre-season “AFLX” Challenge  was held Sunday 13th March 2022.

We beat the Covid19 lockdown in 2020 by a day but succumbed to climate change in 2021 but this year the challenge has again attracted Women’s Community AFL Teams from all divisions across Sydney and the Central West to play at the home of AFL Women’s AFL in the Inner West Henson Park.

6 Clubs / 9 Teams / 2 Pools / 16 Games / 4 Preliminary Finals / 2 Grand Finals – Community Women’s AFL at its best.  Club participants included:

  • Bathurst Bushrangers
  • Newtown Breakaways
  • Pennant Hills Demons
  • Randwick City Saints
  • Western Magic

The Pre-season Challenge has been developed in response to a need for clubs to secure competitive pre-season trial games to test and promote players in a game environment that is beyond clubs internal training.  The Breakaways were pleased to work closely with AFL Sydney and devised the AFLX format to ensure maximum game time participation by clubs in the event.

We thank the Inner West Council, AFL Sydney, O’Neill’s Sportswear and Salisbury Hotel  for sponsorship support .

Newtown Breakaways looking forward to a full Season in 2022 but again extend the invitation Pre-season Challenge for next year 2023 …

Please have a look at the Photo/Video Gallery for the Day (see links below)

Further questions contact the Breakaways AFLX Challenge Project Team: [email protected]

Sun 13 March 2022, Henson Park, Marrickville

Pool 1: Grand Final (Premier & Division 1/2 Level Teams):
* Pennant Hills (1) defeated UTS AFL (1)
* MVP Award: Laura Donahue #9 Pennant Hills

Pool 2: Grand Final (Division 2 & 3/4 Level Teams):
* Pennant Hills (2) defeated Bathurst Bushrangers
* MVP Award:  Tamika Sutton #25 Pennant Hills

Prizes: $500 Cash Perpetual Shield plus $500 O’Neills Vouchers to the two Final winning clubs. (supported by AFL, O’Neills, NBFC)
* Challenge MVP Player prize(s): $250 O’Neill’s Vouchers & awards
Games: Teams played AFLX Format shortened games in a pooled round robin format.  All teams played a minimum of four games.

Download the Full score & final ladder details – below