The Newtown Breakaways initiated the inaugural Breakaways Women’s Pre-season “AFLX” Challenge  Sunday 10th March 2019 at Mahoney Oval, Marrickville and what an incredible day for all involved.

12 Clubs / 16 Teams / 27 Games / 3 Finals – Community Women’s AFL at its best.  Final participants included:

  • Holdroyd-Parramatta Goannas
  • Macquarie University
  • Newtown Breakaways
  • Pennant Hills Demons
  • Southern Power
  • St George AFL
  • Sydney University Women’s AFL
  • UNSW Bulldogs
  • Western Magic
  • Wollondilly Knights
  • Wollongong Saints

The Pre-season Challenge has been developed in response to a need for clubs to secure competitive pre-season trial games to test and promote players in a game environment that is beyond clubs internal training.  The Breakaways were pleased to work closely with AFL Sydney and devised the AFLX format to ensure maximum game time participation by clubs in the event.

We thank the Inner West Council and the NSW Government Office of Sport for their support.

The Challenge event is designed as a kids friendly Carnival & Club Picnic to encourage comradery between teams while still engaging in competitive football.  Clubs brought their marquees and and picnic rugs … many clubs took the memo seriously including the Goannas who came fully decked out in Hawaiian Shirts.

Newtown Breakaways are looking forward to the the 2019 Season but extend the Pre-season Challenge each year …

Please have a look at the Photo/Video Gallery for the Day (see links below)

Further questions contact the Breakaways Project Team: [email protected]

Sun 10 March 2018, Mahoney Oval, Marrickville

Morning Pool B: Grand Final:
* Wollongong defeated Western Magic
* MVP Award:  Eleri Morris, Wollongong

Afternoon Pool A: Grand Final:
* Sydney Uni 1 defeated UTS
* MVP Award:  Jennifer Lew, Sydney Uni

Prizes: $750 Cash & $500 ISC Vouchers to the two Final winning clubs. (supported by AFL, ISC, NBFC)
* Challenge MVP Player prize(s): $100 cash & awards
Games: Teams played AFLX Format shortened games in a pooled round robin format.  All teams played a minimum of three games.

Download the Full score & final ladder details – below